TACKLING THE JET PROGRAM (Part 6): Hurry Up and Wait

Jet_logo_small

Hey JET hopefuls!

I have been busy this week helping out with interviews! I am, of course, not allowed to divulge much, but I WILL say that I had a great time and it was surprisingly tiring.

It was very interesting seeing the range of applicants who came through the consulate. It was great to see that JET appeals to such a wide, diverse range of people. I think that speaks to the success of this cross-cultural program and it’s no wonder it’s been around for 27 years.

I saw loud people and quiet people. Confident people and nervous people. Really cool people who I would want to party with and a few that I would rather avoid. I saw applicants who I thought would be great on the program; and those who I thought would…not be so great on the progam.

But for those of you who’ve interviewed, it’s done! You can breathe easier and relax a bit!

 From here on out, it’s just as the title says: Hurry Up and Wait. Results will be out in April sometime. My advice is to put it out of your mind and focus on enjoying life. But, of course, it’s easier said than done.  

Have you already had yours? If so, how did it go? Nervous? Confident? Unsure? I’d love to hear from JET applicants who have already had their interviews. How was your panel? Did they grill you on stuff? Were they nice? Did you cry? Hopefully not! 

Thanks again to all of you who have read my ramblings about the JET Program. I hope I’ve been able to assist some of you. When placement results come out, I’ll most likely do another post about what to expect!

お疲れさま!

6 thoughts on “TACKLING THE JET PROGRAM (Part 6): Hurry Up and Wait

  1. Hey Ian! I love your blog! It as the right amount of funny!

    I had my interview in the UK in Jan, and I hadn’t a clue how it went. I wish I could lock it out of my mind until April, as its rather life changing, and if it doesn’t go through what should I have planned?! One area will suffer, and in this instance, I’ve put Japan first. I’ve wanted to participate with the JET Programme for years now, its one of the reasons I had gone into higher education, and now its crunch time and I think my nerves were shining as bright as the beads of sweat during my interview.

    My panel consisted of two people who had poker faces, but cracked a smile every now and again. They didn’t really grill me, but there were 1 or 2 questions that threw me off a little!

    All in all, it was a unique experience!

    • Hi Raj. Thanks so much for reading and for your comment! 🙂

      Yeah, putting it out of your mind is definitely easier said than done. I was very similar to you, actually, in that I had put my JET hopes first. I suggest using this time to look up other ways to get to Japan (Interac and Peppy Kids Club are two of the English companies I know of).

      Your interview experience sounds very familiar to mine 🙂 I think that it’s normal to feel that way haha. Best of luck!

      • I’ve looked into Interac and it’s seems like the best way to go if all fails (fingers crossed though!). How would you sum up your time in Japan?

      • Hey Raj, sorry for the late response! And oh, man. Would it sound weird to say life-changing? Because it really was. All the good, all the bad and all the WEIRD really helped to give me new perspectives on so many things 🙂

  2. Hey Guys

    Had mine in London too. I suffered massively from the dreaded blank mindedness syndrome! I really thought I was prepared but when put on the spot combined with nerves my mind just went blank 😦

    As a whole I think it went it went badly for me, but at least I broke the interviewers concrete exteriors and I made them both laugh loudly before leaving.

Leave a Reply

