“SHOW YER TITS! SHOW YER TITS!”

IMG_3353

This weekend, I was in New Orleans for Mardi Gras. I went with my friend Yasmin who is a local and showed me around for the short time we were there.

I had never particularly had any desire to go to New Orleans, I don’t know why. Maybe it was because I had no real expectations, but I found the city to be incredibly vibrant, charming and full of life!

We spent most of our time walking around the French Quarter. The historical architecture and colors of the houses really impressed me. Wherever we turned, we saw purple, green, and yellow – signalling that we were visiting at one of the peak times: Mardi Gras.

IMG_3364

 The streets of the French Quarter were peaceful and quiet to stroll through at night.  It wasn’t until Yasmin and I got within a block or two of Bourbon Street did we hear the cacophony.

 To walk from a neighborhood where the only sound is the wind blowing a can across the pavement to a packed street of drunken, screaming people is a bit jarring, to say the least. Regardless, I eagerly joined the throngs of people walking through the street; I was excited to experience a real Mardi Gras.

 Above us, ornate balconies were crammed with people who were dangling beads enticingly to hordes of outstretched hands. I heard grown ass men hollering down to women to see their breasts.

“TIIIIITTTTSSSSSS” one guy bellowed as if it were his last drunken wish.

“SHOW YER TITS! SHOW YER TITS!” another group of college bros chanted.

Below, groups of people (men and women) crowded together hoping to grab a string of coveted beads. They were like drunken zombies whose main purpose was to collect as many multicolored beads as they could!

 Speaking of beads, they were everywhere. As I jostled my way through the crowd, I was surprised to feel the crunching of bead necklaces beneath my shoes. It was like walking on shiny plastic pebbles. I guess I had assumed that beads were always succesfully caught, but the gutters of Bourbon Street told a very different story.

  IMG_3231

 Bourbon Street was definitely an experience. People of all kinds flooded it and the air was definitely electrifying. Beads would occasionally fly through the air and I was lucky enough to catch a few strings of them; I clean snatched a pair of surprisingly sturdy gold beads from a man behind me. Oops. I was told, however, to never apologize for catching beads during Mardi Gras.

  But seriously, beads were everywhere.

IMG_3163IMG_3164IMG_3257

Aside from the debauchery of Bourbon Street, Mardi Gras was a great time! We caught up with Yasmin’s cousin and his adorable daughter to watch a parade. It was called Orpheus and is one of the most famous parades that happen during Mardi Gras season. It definitely did not disappoint.

 Dozens of intricate, beautiful floats glided gracefully down the streets. Most floats were attached to massive tractors that pulled them, but some were freestanding. One in particular was a massive, red and gold train that chugged by with lively music and dozens of excited members throwing beads and other goodies to outstretched hands.

IMG_3310

 Mardi Gras aside, Another thing I really enjoyed about New Orleans was the food! I feasted on Gumbo, fried oyster Po’Boys, Red Beans and Rice, Crawfish Étouffée and the famous Beignets and Chicory from Café Du Monde.

 Overall, New Orleans is a fascinating place. The culture, history, music, food and just overall vibe of the city really appealed to me. I feel like I didn’t get to experience as much of it as I could have – especially in regards to the cuisine! There was still so much left that I want to see and try that I definitely think a second trip is in order.

 Have you ever been to New Orleans? If so, how did you like it? Any tips or advice on where to go?

2 thoughts on ““SHOW YER TITS! SHOW YER TITS!”

  1. I grew up there, and make it back every year for Christmas and Mardi Gras! If you had to catch only one parade, you did well choosing Orpheus, although I’m partial to the Krewe of Thoth (daytime parade the day before Orpheus) which I ride in almost every year. The French Quarter is one of a kind; if you go back some time when it’s not Mardi Gras you may get to experience the history and culture a bit more. My favorite part of town is the uptown/university area and Audubon Park, upriver along St. Charles Avenue from the Quarter. Beautiful area with amazing architecture. If you decide to go back, let me know and I’ll gladly give you some suggestions!

    • Ahh awesome! Yeah, my friend was telling me that Orpheus was the best and it seemed like it was super popular with everyone! I’m so jealous you were able to ride in a parade – they seem like so much fun!

      And thanks for the offer! I definitely want to go back again so that I can experience it all without the crazy drunken hordes of people haha. I will definitely let you know 😀

Leave a Reply

